• Print
  • Bookmark and Share

Innovation in Literacy Seminar 2011

The ACJRD held the seminar Innovation in Literacy on Thursday 29th September

Seminar Speakers included:

Professor Mark Morgan: Cregan Professor of Education and Psychology, St Patrick’s College Drumcondra

Stephen O'Connor: Organiser, City of Dublin VEC Educational Service to Prisons

Brian Kenealy: Mountjoy Education Unit

Brenda Fitzpatrick: Acting Head Teacher Educational Unit Wheatfield Prison

Jimmy O'Rourke: Arbour Hill & Wheatfield Education Units

Robbie Robinson: Wheatfield Education Unit

David Ahern: CEO, The Shannon Trust

From the right

From left to right:

Jimmy O’Rourke, Bill Faloon, Helen Cauley, David Ahern, Brian Kenealy, Robbie Robinson, Stephen O’Connor, Maura Butler & Prof. Mark Morgan

To view videos of some of the speakers please see the ACJRD channel on youtube.  Unfortunately we were not able to include videos of all speakers due to sound quality issues.

Below you will find the slides from each of the presentations on the night.

Mark Morgan presentation  

Steven O'Connor presentation

David Ahern presentation

Please contact the ACJRD office if you have any questions about the seminar or the speakers, either by email enquiries@acjrd.ie or ph (01) 878 2592 . Shannon Trust runs the Toe by Toe Reading Plan, an award-winning peer mentoring programme which encourages and supports prisoners who can read to give one-to-one tuition to prisoners who struggle to read. In 2007, they provided resources to teach over five thousand new learners in prison.